Departments

Scroll down for more information

Holden Elementary School is organized into departments that supplement academic programs and student services. Each department is composed of dedicated experts in their fields who are committed to serving our students and their families.

To find out more about the departments, contact them, or access resources provided by these teams, click the tabs below to find out more.

Art Teacher | Kim Gallman | kim.gallman@warwickschools.org
Art Teacher | Melissa Cardillo | melissa.cardillo@warwickschools.org

The Holden Elementary School Art department creates rich and engaging experiences and opportunities for all learners. A successful art program not only fosters many areas of growth in myriad ways, it helps students see and understand visual arts in different ways. Students begin to develop an aesthetic sense and understanding of their own design and see the potential in their own skills. They forge a sense of visual literacy that promotes individuality and critical thinking skills.

At Holden Elementary, we want our students to experience the reward and joy of art that is both technically and spiritually expressive.

Science Teacher | Tera Brady | tera.brady@warwickschools.org

The goal of elementary science is to provide young learners with an introduction to our natural world geared toward promoting both a literacy and an enthusiasm that will engage them throughout their lives. “Hands on” teaching methods are applied as a means to convey the basic skills necessary for scientific processes and investigation. Teachers present an approach centered on observation, measuring, and classification to foster the students progress in acquiring skills which will help them apply concepts and utilize that knowledge in a meaningful way in their future years of education.

Music Teacher | Brian Flynn | brian.flynn@warwickschools.org
Music Teacher | Antonio Grelle | antonion.grelle@warwickschools.org
Instrumental Teacher | Dinarte Ferro | dinarte.ferro@warwickschools.org 

Music education is a vital part of Holden Elementary’s curriculum. Young learners show innumerable benefits from the exposure to music and the concepts of music making and music theory. Music education programs help young learners scholastic development in myriad ways as students not only take inspiration from the music but see lessons from other classes – math, science, english, social studies – echoed in song. They develop appreciation for human potential in the musicians they hear and seek to find and realize their own musical gifts.

Resource | Susan LaRose
Special Class | Michelle Sylvestre
Special Class | Teresa Leduc
Math Interventionist | Meghan Jamieson
Speech/Language Therapist | Jill Luvara
Occupational Therapist | Jason Pariseau

Federal and State Regulations that require the district to provide a free and appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment for students with disabilities govern the Warwick Public School System. The Special Education Department has in place a referral and evaluation process that addresses each child who might be in need of Special Education services. When a determination is made that a child qualifies for Special Education Services, there are a range of services and programs to meet the unique needs of each child.

Physical Education/Health Teacher | Lorrie Goralski| lorrie.goralski@warwickschools.org 

Physical Education/Health Teacher | Jared DeAlmo| jared.dealmo@warwickschools.org

Library Media Specialist | Tara Castro | tara.castro@warwickschools.org
Library Media Specialist | Sandra Savella | sandra.savella@warwickschools.org 

Holden Elementary School has a wonderful selection of fiction and non-fiction books at every reading level. Students are encouraged to check out books on a weekly basis. Borrowed books should be returned on time and in good condition. Any damaged books can be returned to the librarian for repair, however it is the responsibility of the parent to reimburse the school for any books that are damaged beyond repair or lost. If necessary, final report cards will be held until either book or replacement costs are submitted.

Library Media Center Website
Warwick Public Library Website

School Nurse | Joanne Pfeiler| joanne.pfeiler@warwickschools.org